2019-04-17 18.05.49.jpg

The Hinterland Prize 2019

Creative Non-fiction Contest

A new prize for creative non-fiction

We’re excited to announce a new prize for creative non-fiction, in partnership with literary agency AM Heath and the University of East Anglia. Accepting non-fiction pieces of up to 5000 words (no minimum). Awarding:

£500 first prize + mentoring session with AM Heath Literary Agency

£200 second prize

£100 third prize

To be judged by Kathryn Hughes, award-winning author, journalist and Professor of Life Writing at the University of East Anglia; Euan Thorneycroft, literary agent at AM Heath; and the Editors of Hinterland accompanied by a review panel to include recent graduates of UEA’s famed Creative Writing program.

Open for submissions 28th May - 2nd July 2019